Tart biscotti with almonds, hazelnuts and sesame

It’s happening! I’ve created something and it is going online! This is one small step for mankind but one huge leap for this little human.

Biscotti1

I’ve been home from work for the last three days, sick, so I’ve had a lot of time on my hands. Recently I have been mildly (ha, yeah right) obsessed with Sorted Food on YouTube and gotten my deep-rooted food obsession to grow yet again. So after watching a billion food-related videos (what else is there to do when trapped on the sofa?) I headed over to Pinterest, and there I stumbled upon the most luscious picture of a stack of biscotti. I. Love. Biscotti. And the great thing about biscotti is that they keep for so long! So I decided to bake a bunch, even though I had no appetite what so ever.

It was a struggle, I must admit. Making a dough that needs just the tiniest bit of arm’s strength while sick is not the best idea I’ve had. But I felt restless and something needed to happen. So bish bosh bash, I threw together a half-improvised biscotti dough – and it actually turned out alright!

I did all of this yesterday, so today my body is a little more cooperative and my appetite is back! But the restlessness is still there and that’s how I ended up making my first official blog post – yay for me! The pictures are, in my opinion, definitely not Pinterest-worthy – if even blog-worthy – but they’re there and it’s a start! I don’t really know anything about photography or lighting, so the quality is very much still in the baby stage. Bare with me here, though, ‘cause I definitely plan on improving quite a lot. I think that food photography is very fascinating, but the thing I don’t get is how people make it look so effortless. I tried placing a piece of parchment paper underneath the biscotti (crooked, even – oh, fancy) and spread some almonds and hazelnuts around, but it just ended up looking like I tried too hard. Oh well! Next time will be better!

I actually wrote several entries before going with this one, where I explained how much of a perfectionist I am and how much out of my comfort zone this post is (with the bad pictures and second language English). But I have decided that it is okay to start out with blurry, bland pictures and an unfocused ramble, ‘cause this is my space and these are my rules.

I am planning on getting this blog to a whole other level, but things takes time and a blog isn’t perfect from post one.

So, from me to you, here is my first official post with my first official recipe! How can you go wrong with biscotti? Maybe the pictures failed, maybe the ramble failed, but the biscotti will never fail!

Kisses!

Biscotti2

Biscotti4

Biscotti3

Tart biscotti with almonds, hazelnuts and sesame

5 dl (2 cups) flour
1,8 dl (3/4 cup) sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
Zest of 2 lemons
1 thumb sized piece of ginger, grated
1/4 tsp. vanilla powder
A pinch of salt
3 large eggs
A handful of almonds
A handful of hazelnuts
A small handful of sesame seeds

Preheat oven to 175 degrees celcius (350 degrees fahrenheit).

In a large bowl, whisk together all of the dry ingredients plus the lemon and ginger. Fold in the nuts and seeds. Crack in the eggs and get your hands dirty. The dough will appear very dry, but it will come together when kneaded – just like a shortcrust pastry dough.

Divide the now smooth dough into two and roll the pieces into logs, about 6,5 cm (3 inches) wide, 2,5 cm (1 inch) high. Transfer to a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.

Bake for approx. 30 minutes, or until the logs are firm to the touch and puffed up. The top might crack, don’t worry about that. Transfer them to a wire rack and let them cool.

When the logs have cooled, cut them into 1 cm (1/2 inch) thick slices crosswise. Best to use a bread knife for this bit. Spread the cookies on the baking sheet and bake them, yet again, for 20 minutes, flipping them halfway through the bake.

Since the cookies are twice baked (as the name indicates) they can be stores for weeks and weeks, so they’re a perfect snack to have lying around.

They’re best served dunked into coffee. So, enjoy!

One thought on “Tart biscotti with almonds, hazelnuts and sesame

This is my favorite bit! Tell me what'ya think!

