Not-Christmas honey cookies

Honey06

Honey2Boy, do I love Easter! Having five days off in a row to me is like winning the lottery. This only happens if I have to stay home sick or the shop is closed for said many days (which is never) or the Queen demands every Danish citizen to take a bunch of days off or something. I had so much time on my hands to do the things that I don’t have the time for in my every day schedule (take a bunch of recipe-snaps for later use, make a bread that takes days to prove, organize the kitchen)… and I would have done that, I swear. I was so ready when the days off approached… But then they were here! And they hit me like a shockwave and knocked me right down onto the couch, which is where I’ve been spending every single one of them. And I’m still sitting there.

Pros about being trapped on your couch: Binge-watching Suits (more like binge-gaping at Harvey); binge-watching the Sorted Food channel; binge-reading my new favorite blog (Molly, let’s run away together!); binge-eating donuts. Okay, we might have to discuss that last one. It seemed like a pro at first, but oh God, I won’t even get into how many donuts I’ve shoved in my mouth. It’s definitely more than two. Definitely. And you will never find out about the Oreo’s… or the cake… or the kringle… or the After Eight… Let’s just say that its a good thing that I’m going back to my running-back-and-forth-job tomorrow. Phew.

Getting to the cons of being stuck on the couch for the past five days. As you might have noticed, not a single recipe has gone up on the blog – and there isn’t one in my drafts, either. Whoops. Five days do fly by when you’re busy doing nothing (which is my favorite activity in the whole wide world, so I won’t be stopped when I have the chance to do 120 hours of it). Luckily for my poor body, I ran out of donuts, which led me to get my po-po off of that damn couch and get some baking done. I’d found this recipe during one of my Pinterest binges and thought that I’d give it a go yesterday. Halfway through, though, I found out that the dough had to rest over night. Ugh! This, ladies and gentlemen, is why you always read the entire recipe before you get your hands dirty. So no cookies for me until today.

I found the dough to be very uncooperative so I took some liberties and changed a whole bunch of things. I can’t help it. Recipes are for the weak! … or something. So these cookies are more like little glazed cakes. Very yummy, but I would recommend doubling the amount of spices and maybe adding a bit more honey. Other than that, I am very happy to yet again have a full cookie jar! Until the mice (better known as my Mum) comes sneaking.

I hope that you will enjoy my adaption of this family recipe (and my very artsy-fartsy photos… I don’t know what I wanted to achieve) and I’d love to hear if you made it, and maybe what liberties you took with the recipe! Now I’ll get back onto the couch (yush!) with a handful of honey goodness and an episode of Downton Abbey. Ah.

Kisses!

Honey03

Not-Christmas honey cookies

Recipe adapted from Pastry Affair
Yields about 37 cookies

1,2 dl honey
1,2 dl brown sugar
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
0,5 tsp. ground cloves
0,5 tsp. ground ginger
0,5 tsp. ground black pepper
55 g butter
0,3 dl black coffee
1 egg
0,8 dl sour cream
0,5 tsp. baking powder
7 dl flour

200 g powdered sugar
Water

In a small saucepan melt the honey and sugar over medium heat. When melted, mix in the spices, butter and coffee. Let cool. Whisk in the egg and sour cream. Sift in the flour and baking powder and stir until the dough begins to come together. Knead the dough until smooth and form it into a disc. Wrap in in cling film and let in rest in the fridge over night.

Preheat your oven to 175 degrees celcius.

Take the dough out of the fridge and put it on a floured surface. Roll it out until 3-5 mm thick. Cut out rounds of your liking (I had a wine glass at hand, so that determined the size of mine). Put them on a baking tray – they won’t spread, so there is room for quite a lot at a time. Bake them for 10-14 minutes, depending on size, until risen and slightly golden. Let them cool completely.

Make the glaze by mixing the powdered sugar with a drop of water, until a very thick consistency. Using the back of a spoon, spread the top of the cookies with the glaze. Let the glaze cool, or shove them in your gob straight away!

This is my favorite bit! Tell me what'ya think!