Seriously easy lemon curd

4lille

1lille

Coming back to work after five days off is hard, you guys.

On the third day Jesus rose from the dead. Pretty cool move. You know what I did on the third day back at work? Dropped an entire bloody cake on the floor. That’s £65 worth of cake squashed beyond recognition. Needless to say that it wasn’t the best possible thing to do in front of a crowd of costumers. But hey, my colleagues got a laugh! – all day long! Good thing that something good came of it.

So, that happened.

I also ran out of Suits. I feel like i just started watching it yesterday! What have I done to deserve this? Gimme more Harvey or I’ll drop an entire freaking cake on you. This week, man, I tell you…

Thus, on the last day before my weekend I decided to drop by Reinh van Hauen to get a shitload of scones to lift my spirits a little. I did not feel like coming back to work had been the best game plan, so I needed some cheering up. Guess when the bakery closed? An hour before I got off of work. Just my luck. So there I was, utterly exhausted, with no scones to brighten the evening.

What I am trying to say is that today I was a wreck. I could do nothing but eat the rest of my Easter chocolates and watch cooking programs.
But the blog must go on! My solution was to make one of the easiest things I know: lemon curd. This stuff takes less time to make than vanilla muffins, and that says something! Lemons, eggs, sugar, butter – slam, bam, lemon jam (curd, yeah, but what’s the fun in that?)!

6lille

The weather, on the other hand, was in a very good mood today, so that left me with some pretty overexposed photos. Yet I’ve come this far and I won’t have the sun (of all things) stop me from achieving a magnificent blog entry.

So there you have it! A tangy and beautifully smooth lemon curd, just like we all love it!

Kisses!

5lille

Lemon curd

Makes about 2,5 dl of curd

3 organic egg yolks
1 organic egg
180 g sugar
1,5 dl lemon juice (about 4-5 lemons)
Zest of 2 lemons (optional)
55 g cold butter, cut into cubes

In a saucepan combine the egg yolks, eggs, sugar, lemon juice and lemon zest. You could swap the whole egg for just another yolk if you’re afraid of curdling (the egg whites cook at a lower temperature which will make the curd curdle more easily).

Cook the mixture over low to medium heat, stirring constantly, until it’s thick and can coat the back of a wooden spoon, 10-15 minutes, depending on the heat.

Take the curd off the heat and stir in the butter, one cube at a time, until combined.

If the curd have curdled after all, just run it through your food processor or strain it through a fine sieve, and you should be all good.

Let the curd cool completely. Store in an airtight jar in the fridge for up to… well, until it tastes funny. I’ve never had it for this long, to be honest. Serve on bread, scones, pavlovas, pies, or whatever makes your tummy go all happy.

This is my favorite bit! Tell me what'ya think!

